THE GARY & VIVIENNE PLAYER INVITATIONAL

After two years of its absence in South Africa, The Gary Player Invitational finally took place at its home, The Lost City Golf Course at The Sun City resort. However, after the loss of the beloved Vivienne Player last year it was more than befitting for this amazing event to come back as the inaugural GARY & VIVIENNE PLAYER INVITATIONAL. Vivienne Player was the epitome of charity, service and giving back. So, this name addition to this prestigious Golf and Giving event was really the cherry on top.

The Gary and Vivienne Player Invitational will continue the work Mr Player and his late wife Vivienne started when they first opened the Blair Atholl Pre-Primary School on their farm over three decades ago. What started out as a school for just a handful of the local farmworkers’ children has now grown to educating 125 children between the ages of three and six.

The Palace at The Lost City

Arriving on the Friday for a practice round, the Sun City sun was living up to it’s name and it was a blazing 37 degrees. Determined to get that practice round in, I stocked up on sunscreen, water and Energade because according to a legend… “The harder you practice, the luckier you get”. Who knows, a girl might just get lucky and draw Mr Player himself for the tournament. I set out to play a solid 9 hole practice but by hole 6, I could feel that sun just sapping my energy away. I caught up with the Ndugane Twins, Odwa and Akhona and the beautiful Kgomotso Ndungane on hole 8 and I joined them for the last two holes of the front nine. Struggling with the heat (more than normal) I opted to keep it at 9 holes while they continuid on. I made my way to the majestic Palace hotel to recover from the sun and get ready for the Inaugural Gary & Vivienne Player Invitational welcome dinner. Afterall, everything can be solved with dinner and a bit of a party.

Welcome Dinner at The Palace.

In true Player style, the welcome dinner was beautifully done. The entertainment by the stunning violinists was something to see and hear, talk about beauty and talent. It was a room full of talent, from soccer, rugby, cricket and golf legends like Sally Little to Sunshine Tour golfers. There were heart-warming speeches but when Gary got up and spoke about his beloved Vivienne, there was not a dry eye in the room. To hear about the amount of charity work that Vivienne did and was committed to was just humbling to say the least. The evening was beautifully orchestrated.

The draw came out and of course a girl got lucky. I had the knight, the Legend, the most decorated golfer in Africa and one of the most recognized names in the world, as my driver tomorrow. If you had told me when I was 9 years old, walking across Manzini Golf club taking a shortcut home through a par 5, not knowing what those guys were actually doing out there. That I would one day play golf with a living Legend. Well heck, I would have laughed in your face. Golf was not an option for me at the time. I have shared this story before but man, let me tell you. It deserves airtime now more than ever because how am I here? Which was the question that went around all night from my fellow envious bunch “how did you score that fourball?” Who doesn’t want a chance to play with Gary. It was not lost on me that at that moment, I was the luckiest person in the room. A tad bit overwhelmed, and sunburnt from the afternoon, I went to bed, thanking the golf gods.

DAY 1

Day 1 proved to be quite the challenge for our fourball. I cannot speak for the other guys but my game was completely off the mark. I am pretty sure it was a combination of pressure, nerves, the heat, lack of sleep, my body slowly failing me and just an honest to god bad day on the course. Gary was so gracious about it, reminding me that he asked me to assist on just 5 holes and I made it 6. The day was priceless. I watched Gary make birdies, pars and an in incredible eagle and not miss the fairway, not once. I hit the jackpot with this fourball… Gary a Legend, Graham the gentleman and the charming Giuseppe. Without a doubt the luckiest girl of the weekend.

Shebeen African Night.

The Saturday evening Shebeen Night was one to remember. Golfers truly know how to party and Gary Player and team surely know how to put on a party. With a touch of Africa, everyone looked so incredibly beautiful. The set was decorated stunningly, the food was amazing and one of South Africa’s biggest bands kept us on our feet. What a powerhouse Claire Johnson and her band are. But with a bit of exhaustion and not knowing I was nursing a heatstroke, it unfortunately turned into a very early night for me. Leaving the party early and hoping to rest up for DAY 2 and for a better golf game. I headed off to bed.

The Knight and I

DAY 2 and Final Day.

DAY 2 and the Sun City sun was out in all it’s glory. Feeling truly under the weather, I wondered if I would make it through 9 holes. Determined to not let my team down I soldiered on. The wonderful Chantal and team stocked me up with some rehydrate and Energade. Graham made sure I got a wide rimmed hat to help with the sun protection and Giuseppe being the gentleman that he is made sure to check on me from time to time and to let me know it was ok not to continue playing if need be but I was determined to play on. This was not going to be my legacy. A girl from dusty streets of Eswatini squanders her chance at playing 36 holes with a living legend. No way was that going to be me! 🤣 I have to say the game was a little better than the day before. I also chose to tee off with my 4 iron on pretty much most holes and if you’ve played with me before, you will know that’s always a good idea. We like it for the 4. The putting stroke was 100 times better, thanks to the lessons from Gary the day before. I truly hope I get a chance to play with this wonderful man again some day so I can show him that I can actually play a decent game of golf and Graham and Giuseppe deserve a better game from me. My nerves and the heat got the better of me this time and I still would not change it for a dime. What a time. To be alive. A 36 hole MasterClass from a Legend. Thank you Team Gary Player.

Prize-giving on the 18th green.

Congratulations to the winning fourball of Mark Fish, Antony Phillips, Ashok Pundit and Sunshine Tour pro Brooklin Bailey.

Blair Atholl Pre-Primary School

The Blair Atholl Pre-Primary School is situated in the Lanseria area, northwest of Johannesburg, and provides quality education to the learners of this marginalised community.

The school has been in operation since 1990 and is dependent on private funding. It caters for 125 learners from the ages of 3 to 6. As there are very few other pre-schools in the area, it performs the vital task in ensuring the children from the surrounding impoverished communities receive stimulation and education in preparation for their entry into formal schooling.

The Blair Atholl Pre-Primary School offers a unique educational opportunity, which goes beyond the four walls of the classroom, providing the children with a stimulating and diversified programme that incorporates sports (namely dance and tennis), cultural activities, and a small computer centre.

The school manages a feeding scheme where they work diligently throughout the year to purchase food, form-balanced menus, and prepare healthy meals for the children.

Gary & Vivienne Player

“People talk about a legacy to the game of golf. Forget about being a great golfer, I’d like to be remembered as a man who loved people, who loved life and who tried to contribute to society.” ~ Gary Player.

Catch you on the fairways.

2 thoughts on “THE GARY & VIVIENNE PLAYER INVITATIONAL

  1. I can only imagine the feeling and excitement because I know you had a blast. I enjoyed this read, you wrote in such a way that takes the reader there, in those moments, with you…

    Like

Leave a comment