SUMMER Golf Season.

LOADING…

It is the start of summer and this to most amateur golfers means it’s the start of endless amounts of time on the fairways. Gone are the early morning frozen fairways, greens and what I consider close to frost bitten fingers. Winter golf is not fun but at the same time, one cannot just sit at home for months waiting for the sun to come back. So, we brave the early morning tee times, endure the super dry yet rewarding running fairways. We show up because, even in all of that cold air and brown surroundings, there is still an element of beauty.

Summer Golf….

USUTU FOREST GOLF CLUB.

What a perfect way to start my summer golf season. At the quint village gem surrounded by forests. Usutu Forest Golf Club nestled in the quietly beautiful Mhlabanyatsi Forest in Eswatini. Mhlambanyatsi and I have a long history of some of the best memories of my childhood, hours spent in swimming pools, summer camps, first loves, heartbreaks and anything in between what happens in your teenage years. It has remained my favourite part of this beautiful country that I can call home. I have mentioned before that golf was never a consideration for me growing up, regardless of the proximity of the golf courses around me. I did not know or see anyone like me playing golf and so without any representation, one never even considered it a sport I could take part in. When I finally did take up golf in my 30’s, Usutu Forest and every other club in Eswatini were top of my bucket list. It has taken me a long time to get here but I am glad I finally have.

Usutu Forest is a 9hole Highland course with alternate tee boxes for a full 18 holes. Surrounded by forest and an abundance of other (besides pine) beautiful, majestic old trees and spatters of colour, this little gem is a lovely sight. As cute and short as it is, it is still as tricky as can be and yet also incredibly kind to your game. If you are a long hitter there are a few opportunities to use your driver and you might find a few birdies, maybe an eagle. A pleasant walk in the forest that I would recommend to any golfer.

Flag Collected ⛳️

Catch you on the fairways.

Leave a comment