Golfing Whirlwind in the Western Cape.

Fabulous February in The Garden Route.

This February turned out to be the best golfing month in my entire golf existence. Starting off with a six day golf trip to George with the best bunch of ladies and golf buddies. I was told it was just a girl’s trip, asked if I was keen, and my instructions were to just show up. I packed my bags a bit anxious because I was going on a trip for 6 days with 6 ladies, 7 including me.

The 7even sunset boat cruise. Mossel Bay

50 So Far…

My anxiety was caused by the fact that I had never traveled with so many people for so long, other than my kids. I have spent my entire life on solo trips, trips with my kids, and maybe once or twice a couple of friends. This was definitely going to be a new experience. I always felt my personality (functioning introvert) would never allow me to spend this much time in one house with 6 people who were not part of my immediate family. The calm came in knowing that was the bunch of ladies that I had said I would take anywhere, and the preparations and solid fun filled itinerary we had on our whatsapp group seemed flawless.

GEORGE

We set off on the morning flight to George. Arriving to perfect weather at 9:30am we had a hickup at the car rental, which was eventually solved. We headed straight to our very first trip activity… golf at George Golf Club. None of us had played George, and the excitement was palpable. On arrival, the reception we received from the club and it’s members was just wonderful. Sandra Lennox, the golf GM, had arranged for us to join the ladies’ competition on the day. The ladies’ captain and the George ladies greeted us with such joy and kindness. It was bound to be a good day out on the course.

George Golf Club

GEORGE GOLF CLUB

Set at the foot of the Outeniqua Mountains, George Golf Course is one of the oldest courses in South Africa. George Golf Club was as stunning as I was told it would be. This was my 4th time in this part of the country, and I was finally getting to play it.
After this experience, I now understand why it is regarded as one of the most delightful parkland courses in South Africa. Even while carting our way through the slightly undulating terrain, one could tell that it would be a wonderful walk along the attractive leafy fairways, surrounded by beautiful flora. My collection of “The Trees” shots was exceeded in one setting.

This 18-hole Parklands course and it’s stunning layout was so much fun to play. I had a decent round and an overall wonderful experience and can not wait to go back and play it again. We joined the ladies at the prize-giving at the end of our round, and we were treated to some delicious finger foods. We had our own comp going on among us, R50 per birdie and R100 from each player (R700, IPS score and winner takes all but buys first round of drinks at the 19th. Our winner for Day 1, Ms Khomotso Phofa.

The ladies all agreed that it needs to be the first stop for any of us every time we make a trip to George. Thank you, Sandra Lennox and Louis Mahne, and your wonderful stuff for a memorable experience on your home turf. We truly appreciate it, and we will definitely see you again. A gem worth discovering in the midst of some greats.

We later drove out in the evening headed towards Mossel Bay to check-in to our Sea View rental home in Pinnacle Point Golf Estate. We woke up the next morning to stunning views of the ocean and a lovely house setting. The house itself was just perfect.

We headed out at the time that we all had agreed on ✔️, back to George, because today we were tackling the lovely Kingswood Golf Estate. We arrived at Kingswood and grabbed a light breakfast before our tee time.

Kingswood

Kingswood Golf Estate was the one that surprised us the most because we had no idea what to expect and…. boom, another gem found in George.
It is perfectly placed between the Fancourt Links and George Golf Course at the very heart of the Garden Route’s golf hub. Kingswood’s Championship Golf Course is a unique one.

The design, inspired by the Home of Golf, St Andrews , The Old Course with its Links style open fairways, undulating greens and traditional pot bunkers, that we had no business getting into and found it a challenge to get out of. There is no other course in South Africa like it.

The back nine views turn to the Outeniqua Mountains, and they are breathtakingly beautiful. We became instant golf tourists with every hole with its majestic views. What absolute fun. This was the one to play your best game, and I did just that. Winning the days competition. I’ll be baack!

PINNACLE POINT

Pinnacle Point

Designed by one of my favourite course designers, Peter Matkovich. This 18-hole championship course is set on a clifftop overlooking the Indian Ocean.
Pinnacle Point, in true Matkovich style, is SPECTACULAR! Luckily enough to have met him and had a conversation with him about two of his courses in Mauritius. One of which remains my favorite course out of more than a dozen of his designs that I’ve had the privilege of playing. It has taken forever to get to Pinnacle Point, but boy, was I glad to finally make it there. The weather on the day was short of perfect. Ok, ok, it was blazing hot, and I got incredibly sunburned, and for the first time, I will say it was worth it.

Our competition manager and fourballs team organizer, Ms. Naomi Molepo decided that a 6 club competition was how we would experience this monster of a course. Like clowns, we all agreed, knowing full well we were sending ourselves to a gunfight with swords. This course required ALL the swords in our bags and demanded a level of respect.

The dramatic hole settings with its majestic ocean views, pristine fairways, and lush greens were enough to make me forget my choice of clubs. I was determined to have a decent game, and if not, I truly was just happy to be out there experiencing the sheer beauty of it. There are more than enough spectacular holes, but the Par 3, hole 7 is the one that had us definitely all saying WOW from the tee box all the way to the green. The finishing 18 hole is also just stunning. What a way to finish.  The only respectable thing to do now is to come back here again and again. 

Our overall competition winner was the reigning Limpopo Ladies Open champ Ms Khomotso. The longest drive on Hole 10 Ms Rebotile Mahlake, Nearest to the pin Ms Naomi on hole 9.  Congratulations, ladies. Drinks and dinner at the lovely clubhouse with its views of the ocean was the cherry on the cake.

Special thank you to Quintin Byleveldt and the wonderful golf course staff for being so accommodating with us and taking care of us . We will see you guys soon.

Flag Collected

Our following days were filled with laughter, great food, great conversations, and love. Our braai master Ms Khomotso was exceptional. We were golfed out for one week. We took a sunset boat cruise in Mossel Bay, had a delicious dinner at a local restaurant.

Little did I know that the ladies had planned a surprise 50th birthday dinner on our last night. The trick was to get me out of the house while they prepared. Knowing how much I wanted to go to the beach, Ms Tumi M was tasked with distracting me. We took a lovely walk to the beach and stopped over the 6th green for a mini photoshoot.

By the time we got back, there was a make-up artist and photographer, balloons, and cake. I walked into house to my favourite Beyonce song Halo playing in the background. The rest was such an emotional and beautiful evening that was far more than I hoped for. This circle was kind, caring, loving, accepting, and had a vulnerability that felt like home. Thank you, Naomi Molepo, Tumi Morekure, Lady Ratsela, Khomotso Phofa, Tumi Kekana, and Rebotile Mahlake for the time of my life. Let’s do it again. Until the next episode….

Side note: My 50th birthday was in October, but we are celebrating all year.

Catch you on the fairways.

50 so far.

Leave a comment