Golf In Paradise

Mauritius, a golfing destination throwback…

Dinarobin Beachcomber Hotel, Mauritius

The opportunity to visit Mauritius came about in 2017 through Mauritius Tourism South Africa and The AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open 2017. When I got that call to be a part of the #RatherBeInMauritius hash tag which included playing golf, sightseeing and a VIP invitation to what has without a doubt become my favourite Tri-Sanctioned tournament by the DP Tour, Asian Tour and Sunshine Tour. I did not need any convincing. This beautiful Island was always on my bucket list of places to visit way before I started playing golf over a decade ago. Back then, like everyone else I really just wanted to go there for its beautiful pristine beaches with crystal clear waters, sights and sounds. Never in a million years did I ever think it would be the ultimate golfing destination and that golf would end up being the main reason for my visit.

And so, with an impressive itinerary in hand, it was destination Mauritius, Le Morne, Dinarobin Beachcomber Hotel my first host for the days I was going to be there. We had arrived at night and the drive to the hotel was on a dark and winding narrow two-lane road. I was glad I was not driving at that moment because my driver seemed to know exactly how to navigate his way.

Dinarobin Beachcomber Hotel

The Dinarobin Beachcomber Hotel entrance, lobby and effortlessly efficient check-in was all indication that I was now in paradise. I was whisked off in a golf cart to my beach front facing room with it’s own private patio. Dropping my bags inside my gorgeous room, I went outside and sat out there in the dark, listening to the ocean and breathing in the humid island air…Yes, I was definitely in paradise. I did not get much sleep that night, my excitement got the better of me. I woke up at 5:40am to the sound of the ocean and the most beautiful sight I had ever seen in my life just outside my room was the bluest blue ocean just waiting…inviting. So, I decided to put my costume on and go in for a swim and boy was surprised by how warm the water was. What a perfect way to start the day.

First on the agenda was Tamarina Golf Course, an 18-hole golf course situated on the sunny west coast of Mauritius. A lovely lunch of local cuisine on the deck of the wooden floored clubhouse was possibly a sign of what was to follow.

Tamarina Golf Course

What was meant to be 9 holes turned out to be 18, this place is a beauty. Somehow, I felt like I was playing in a forest, with challenging tee boxes and immaculate fairways which I would suggest you try keeping to because trying to find your ball if it goes out of bounds would be a difficult task. Tamarina is carved between mountain and sea, a beautifully conditioned and enjoyable course with breathtaking views of the mountains. Set on an old sugar plantation, you are also not alone when you are out there because the abundance of monkeys makes for some entertainment. I often wonder if they are out there making bets on our game, which would make us the entertainment. This is one of those courses that leaves you with a good feeling even if you haven’t played a solid game.

The following day I went for an early morning swim in the Indian ocean, paired with a lovely breakfast at Dinarobin could have been the highlight of the day before heading out to the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open at Heritage Golf and Spa Resort. What can I say, Heritage was everything I had hoped it would be. Designed by Peter Matkovich this 18-hole tropical golf course is a gem. Unfortunately, I would not get to play it this time around, but I was still happy and privileged to get to walk it for the next couple of days and see it from a spectator’s point of view. Hopefully that would give me a slight edge for when I came back to play it. As I walked around following my favourite golfers I was thinking “seriously, it cannot get any better than this?”

Day four and I was thinking I could definitely live here. 6:30am and I was ready to make my way next door to the Paradis Golf Club, for a 7:00am tee time. I had been waiting to play this course since I arrived. The Paradis Golf Course really makes you feel like you are on an island with its palm trees and stone pines. Nestled between mountains and Morne Peninsula lagoon, its views are insanely spectacular, paradise kind of spectacular. Even with its narrow fairways, it is not a difficult course at all, which is great for us amateurs looking for a decent game and if the tide is really low, you could be hitting balls off the edge of the ocean. Playing the back nine was like playing on a movie set, with the flawless views from every tee box, every angle and every green. It’s a relaxing 18 holes because there is really no way anyone can get mad while playing with those views and backdrop.

The drive to Avalon is a beautiful sight seeing adventure. I stopped to see the Waterfalls and the Seven Coloured Earth in Chamarel, drove further up into the mountains and the higher we went my ears started to pop. Up into the heart of a natural reserve where we find a beautiful Avalon, mounted at the top, surrounded by a tea plantation. It was somewhat cooler up there which I appreciated after spending a few days in the heat and humidity of the southern part of the island.

Avalon Golf Course

Avalon Golf Course is a Peter Matkovich 18-hole Championship course. It is one of those courses where you are constantly in awe of your surroundings because the views are spectacularly breath-taking from the first tee. There was rain looming in the far mountains and I couldn’t be bothered, I was determined to play through this one and at some point, I did play in some mist or what seemed like a moving cloud with a slight drizzle that soon passed and floated off into the mountains. It was all so magical. The fairways are wide and forgiving and make for some good golf, great for amateurs. Carts are a must because of the long distances between tee boxes and no carts are allowed on any part of the course except the path. It felt and looked like an immaculately manicured mountain forest. I did play a decent round of golf finally, managing to hit my driver long and straight most times, a rare occasion for me. I finished with a par on the 18th. What better way to make one want to go back?

At the AfrAsia I managed to sit down and have a brief chat with Peter Matkovich who insisted I make my way up to Northern part of the island to his latest addition (which according to him, is an absolute beaut.) the increasingly popular Mont Choisy Le Golf.

Unfortunately, I ran out of time and did not get to visit the shiny new Mont Choisy but it went straight to the top of the bucket list.

Fast forward a year later….

I was ready to make another trip back to the golfing paradise. The AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open 2018 was back and the Mauritius Tourism South Africa gang and I were ready for another golfing adventure. This time the host for the tournament was the much-anticipated Anahita Four Seasons Golf and Spa Resort.

Anahita Four Seasons Golf Club

No longer a Mauritius rookie, I came prepared. I arrived on the late flight again and the drive to the Eastern part of the island took an hour and as my driver is navigating the narrow roads I could not help but feel a sense of familiarity and a welcome feeling. This time my host was the exquisite Long Beach Sun Resort and by this time I was accustomed to the islands world class hospitality. Arriving at Long Beach I realised that the standards might just have been upped a notch since the previous year. My room was about 50 metres to the ocean and was stunning, modern and immaculate.

A lovely fruit and chocolate basket awaited me inside but my exhaustion kicked in very fast and it did not take me long to fall asleep with the sound of the waves outside my door. Tomorrow was a big day; I was playing in the AfrAsia ProAm. A dream come true, an ultimate Bucket list check and flag collecting moment.

Designed by Ernie Els, Anahita Four Seasons Golf Club is an 18-hole championship course situated on the East coast of Mauritius. With its beautiful natural flora and fauna, the course is set on a tropical paradise and the coastline’s natural beauty shows off views of the mountains, lagoon and Indian ocean. Anahita was far more than a treat, the insanely gorgeous views were all around. Its beauty will deceive you into thinking you will play a beautiful game yourself, with fairways so prestine I was not sure if I was allowed to make divots. I believe my second experience will be far more successful, it deserves a return and the respect of a decent game. It was an unbelievable honour to get to watch Ernie play on his own turf. This course is not one you want to miss out on when visiting Mauritius for a golfing holiday.

Just a 10-minute boat ride from Anahita is an island, not just any island…. this is Ile Aux Cerfs.

Ile Aux Cerfs Golf Club

Designed by the legendary Bernhard Langer, the course is on the southern half of the Ile aux Cerfs Island with the holes winding beautifully through the length of the island, with undulating fairways and ocean few greens. Almost all 18 holes of this island golf course have views of the ocean and water is an essential feature of the course, not just the ocean as a backdrop but the lakes in and around the course make for some interesting tee shots. Add in a dose of some luxuriously white sand bunkers and you’ll soon come to realise that Ile Aux Cerfs was not just a pretty face. The winding cart path will take you through some gorgeous vegetation that will make you feel like you are in a tropical forest island, which actually you are. At some point everything looked like a postcard.

The cuisine of Mauritius is influenced by the tropical location of the island as well as the cultural diversity which characterizes the country. Mauritian cuisine is a blend of African, Chinese, European and Indian influences in the history of Mauritius. 

The fairways are narrow, and the holes are short but really enjoyable to play as long as you keep your ball on the fairway. I would suggest sticking to your irons most times and maybe a 3 wood for those that can actually play that club. I did lose about 4 balls so be warned. I would be happy to lose more balls again. Of Mauritius’ 12 golf courses, I’ve taken on five… seven to go. Unfortunately, the pandemic put a pause on this Flag Collecting adventure for over two years. I am definitely one of those people relieved and excited that golf if fully back on track. The goal still remains to collect as many flags around the world as humanly possible.

Catch you on the fairways.

Felicity Shiba for Travel Ideas Magazine.

Mauritius Sights and Sounds…

Of course it was not all golf. I managed to explore other parts of Mauritius. Made my way to the colorful markets. Filled with an abundance of fresh fruit, vegetables and souvenirs. I meandered my way through Flaq market eating what I could find. Anyone that follows any of my travel blogs will know I eat my way through every country I visit. Making sure to try out as many local cuisines. Mauritius with its rich culture and equally diverse cuisine was no exception. Mauritius’ cuisine is influenced by the tropical location of the island as well as the cultural diversity. A blend of African, Chinese, European and Indian influences, finding something to eat was easy.

2 thoughts on “Golf In Paradise

    1. Thank you for reading. Appreciate the support. Yes, it I one for the books. A girls trip would be amazing.

      Like

Leave a comment